The mysteries of the Rosary call to mind important events in salvation history. They are traditionally divided into 3 groups of 5 mysteries. The first group, known as the Joyful mysteries focuses on Jesus’ incarnation. The second group, or sorrowful mysteries focuses on the paschal mystery of Jesus’ suffering and death. The third group focuses on Jesus’ resurrection and the completion of God’s work of salvation when we join Him in heaven. Recently, Pope John Paul II added a 4th group of 5 mysteries focused on Jesus’ 3 years of public ministry.

Recently I came in and edited the order I present the mysteries. I present Joyful, Sorrowful, Luminous and Glorious and they are not in chronological order. I did this because the Luminous mysteries are largely about discipleship which only makes sense after you understand the central importance of the Cross of Christ.